Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

sudden loss of power, crappy idle (im stumped)

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2007, 08:16 PM
Default sudden loss of power, crappy idle (im stumped)

The other day while driving to work i let the engine bog down as i was cruising up to a light, and it kick a few times lettin me know to give it gas or push the clutch in.... so i gave it gas as usually but it kept kicking all the way up. Then it began randomly kicking. I pulled over, took the timing belt cover off the top and the belt seemed fine... so i drove on to work.

when i got close to work it just kept loosing power more and more till i finally had to get towed up hill near work and from here on out please remember im no mechanic:

First thing i did was pull a plug wire out: tip was oil so i figured the o rings in the valve cover gasket had went bad, and i like my car so i decided to go all out.... new gasket, and o rings, cap, rotor, plug wires, and plugs (yeah i bought iridium, yes im a moron). Anyways, got it all back together and same problem. the oil eventually burned off and no that was the last of the smoking. Fuel filter was my next guess, so i pulled mine out and saw where it had just been changed 6 months ago (thank you shop that leaves notes on parts you replace.)

Gettin stumped, i cleaned the throttle body, and put injector cleaner in..... hard start, smoked the cleaner off.... still got a problem.
Compress test, very close to 150lbs all the way across. Checked for spark and each wire fires like a dream. No check engine light, oil is full and not polluted, antifreeze is full and very clean as well. My next idea is to check engine vacuum hoping that it could be the cat. other than that im out of ideas. please help

Old 03-21-2007, 09:16 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: sudden loss of power, crappy idle (im stumped)