Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Need Technical Education Please *Newbie Here*

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2010, 08:28 AM
Default Need Technical Education Please *Newbie Here*

Hey folks...

I'm a newbie to this forum as well as to the Honda Civic...

some background... I bought a 96 Honda Civic Hatchback...it needs a lot of work...needs a new tranny and the suspensions are shot...the civic is a dx model...i have no clue what kind of engine it is...i just know it's the base DX model....

so here comes the twist... i have a wrecked 98 EX coupe automatic that still have the engine and is still drivable but the rear is smashed in...

i want to replace the 96 engine with the 98 engine...what do i need to worry about...i also want to put in the EX A/C to the DX (the DX has no AC)...what are some of the things i need to keep in mind?

has anyone done this type of swap?...i basically want to turn the DX model to an EX model minus the automatic tranny (i'll buy a new manual tranny for the EX engine).

what kind of an education do i need and where are the resources?...what are the engine sizes...what are the differences?...specs?...anyone know of any how to websites or links to good DIY?

thanks a billion folks...

Old 07-31-2010, 08:45 AM
Recognized HCF Member

Is your DX a manual now? Has it been modified in any way? If the engine is stock it will be a D16Y7. Look for the engine number stamped on the front of the block where the engine meets the transmission.

What you are proposing is very common, your parts car has almost all that you need to put an EX powertrain into your DX. You will need to buy a few parts from a manual EX, the engine computer and the intake manifold, because those are different for automatic.