Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Need help with leak on my 95 Civic EX AT

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2006, 08:42 PM
Default Need help with leak on my 95 Civic EX AT

I just purchased this car used with 130k miles about a month ago, and I just found out it has a leak. Looked under the car and it seems like the entire front end underneath engine is covered with gunk and oil. I noticed oil dripping pretty much everywhere, including drain plug, off the exhaust right next to oil pan and mostly the passenger side on the metal casing, i guess the transmission case (sorry im a noob to this). I cleaned everything out with a degreaser, and it seems like theres no more leakage from the drain plug and oil pan area. But i can see liquid condensing before my eyes on the bare metal case, which is more on the passenger side and begin to drip. Thought it was tranny fluid, but the liquid is dark brown, and I checked the tranny fluid on dipstick, which is still bright red. Is it possible this might be tranny fluid? because i dont see how the oil collects on the metal case, i can't determine where it's coming from. Anyone know how much it cost to fix a problem like this? i might be headed to the dealer soon. Any help appreciated

Old 10-27-2006, 11:44 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Need help with leak on my 95 Civic EX AT

it sounds like oil. tranny fluid is pinkish red. is it manual or auto? wipe down the whole engine as clean as u can. then run the car with you checking out underneath the hood. i think its leaking from the valve cover, im not sure, cause im not there. but look very closley. good luck.

Old 10-27-2006, 11:54 PM
HCF Member