Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Idle stabilizer idea

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2005, 12:36 PM
Default Idle stabilizer idea

Hey everyone. I am an electrical engineer and have an idea on how to create a divice that will keep the idle stable by bypassing the ecu control. I just got a '99 Civic Coupe EX and have the up and down, high (about 1500rpm most of the time) idlle problem. what this device will do is, it will control the IACV and it will be adjustable by having two push buttons. The connection will be made by using the ECU Pin diagram. It will take five wire connections, 3 for power and 2 for the IACV. I will be building a prototype to test on my car very soon. After testing and making sure it is safe to use, I will be building more and sell them on ebay. An estimate of the price will be from $30 to $50 depending on the final list of parts. What do you guys think? and of course mad discount for HCF members. Also, if you have any comments on how I can make this idea better, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

[IMG]local://upfiles/4755/8F2139A544C741C8B8EE2E673CD96CFD.jpg[/IMG]

Old 09-07-2005, 01:38 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Idle stabilizer idea

How well do you understand the system? I haven't looked into it much, but I would be willing to help. I do have electrical/electronics knowledge.

Old 09-07-2005, 01:49 PM

My understanding is that the IACV is controlled by pulse modulation. With a Scope I can measure the frequency of the pulse and with a microcontroller I can recreate it and make it adjustable.

Old 09-07-2005, 04:05 PM
HCF Member