Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Engine won't turn over

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2011, 05:53 AM
Default Engine won't turn over

Ok so here's the deal. My engine died in my 96 LX out of the blue. It won't crank at all. When I turn the key to on it clicks once and then I just get this soft whining noise. My electronics are working fine and everything seems ok, but I'm far from an expert. Any suggestions?

Old 04-15-2011, 07:13 AM
Recognized HCF Member

The battery may be dead. Try a jump start. To troubleshoot, first thing would be to check the battery voltage both idle and while someone turns the key to try to start. If there is voltage (12.0 volts or more) at the battery posts, but the car isn't getting power, check the battery connections.

Old 04-15-2011, 07:14 AM
HCF Member

Have the battery tested at an autoparts store (i use autozone), they will top the battery off and do a load test to see if its good. Also, are the terminals corroded? if they are, take a wire brush, or a terminal cleaner, and scrub till its shiny, dont forget the inside of the battery cables too.

Also, check all your grounds and makes sure they are clean and tight.

Seeing how it just died out of the blue, i would say the starter is fine... however it does sound like your alternator died, pull it off and have it tested

Old 04-15-2011, 07:46 AM

I'm fairly certain that it is not that battery, since I can turn the key and my radio cuts on. Unless that could still work but not have enough to start the car? Also, is there anyway to check the alternator without removing it? My car is at work and towing is expensive.

Old 04-15-2011, 08:05 AM
HCF Member

Originally Posted by ab96LX