Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Engine light on, idles at 1000rpm, considering replacing IACV... help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2009, 03:04 PM
Default Engine light on, idles at 1000rpm, considering replacing IACV... help!

First post here, I am very excited!

BTW, I am a super car noob with a super car problem.
I would appreciate any help I can get.

My wifes Honda Civic DX 1999, w/ 120k miles, recently had the "check engine light" turn on.

Took it to my mechanic--who specializes in Japanese cars--and he found several misfires. He changed the spark plugs and the wires, which solved the misfiring problem. He showed me there was a new reading of a P0505, and that the car was idling at 1000rpm and the check engine light was still on.

He suggested replacing the IACV--which is expensive--and said it's only a 50/50 shot it will fix the problem. From my research it could be anything from the cooling system, gasket leak, throttle cable too tight, vacuum leak, throttle body stop screw, the TPS sensor or the IACV.

Cars in the shop right now. Wifes using a rent a car, but she needs the Honda for driving to work.

Any ideas? Is 1000rpm bad? Should I have my mechanic check for other solutions before just replacing the IACV?

Thanks guys!

Old 06-11-2009, 09:51 AM
Recognized HCF Member

Yes there are lots of other things that can cause that which need to be checked first. I think there is also a fast idle control valve on that model which can go bad or get broken.

Old 06-11-2009, 01:07 PM
Recognized HCF Member

Your engine does not have a fast idle valve.

There is a logical test to figure out whether code P0505 is caused by a vacuum/intake air leak versus a faulty IACV: