Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a check engine light that won't go away, ask about it here!

compressor spewing freon - what is cause?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2011, 01:41 PM
Default compressor spewing freon - what is cause?

Been working on a fixer-up 1993 honda civic. Everything is pretty good now except for the AC. I attempted to add freon and it came spewing out the side of the compressor in what appears to be a bolt hole. I have no AC experience but I'm usually pretty good with figuring things out. Can someone explain what causes this issue? Is the compressor just bad, etc.? Any input would be very much appreciated.

I have attached a pic as well and you can see the freon coming out the hole in the compressor.

Thank you,

Attached Thumbnails compressor spewing freon - what is cause?-dsc00279-small.jpg  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:55 PM
HCF Member

Originally Posted by jacob600
Been working on a fixer-up 1993 honda civic. Everything is pretty good now except for the AC. I attempted to add freon and it came spewing out the side of the compressor in what appears to be a bolt hole. I have no AC experience but I'm usually pretty good with figuring things out. Can someone explain what causes this issue? Is the compressor just bad, etc.? Any input would be very much appreciated.

I have attached a pic as well and you can see the freon coming out the hole in the compressor.

Thank you,
bad bolt threads? cracked bolt? cracked housing of compressor? bad seal (if there even is one)?
I am assuming there is no pressure in the system if it is leaking out right there, i would take that bolt off and order a new one from dealership, also see if there is any seal there. Sorry i cant be anymore specific.

Old 04-22-2011, 04:12 PM
HCF Member