Inside and Out Talk about your interior and exterior mods here.

When to use Primer?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2007, 08:44 PM
HCF Member
Default When to use Primer?

I am kinda new to the paint world, enamel, laquer, etc.. it's all sort of new to me. I understand the basics of the paint, but I don't understand the use of primer. When exactly is it time to get a can of primer and go to it? From what I have learned its when you have a smooth surface that paint wont really stick to, is that right?

And for that matter, if paint wont stick to it, why will primer. Should you primer everything, or just go with your gut?

I am sure some of you know some stuff that I don't, so I am all about learning.

Old 02-01-2007, 09:10 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: When to use Primer?

http://www.hotrod.com/howto/hdrp_061...k_sanding.html

Read that^^ .Hot rod sites are great for painting tips/ tricks.

Primer is like a shield to the metel and does make the paint stick better, it also can be used to fill in imperfections with high built primers. I use primer on everything, I would never just use paint. And buy the primer from the same company/brand your getting the paint from. There are different primers for different materials too, depending on what your painting.

Old 02-01-2007, 09:15 PM
HCF Member

Paint will stick to paint if that paint is roughened up. Paint will NOT stick very well to bare metal, That's where primer comes in. Primer sticks well to metal AND paint, so it acts as a bond between both. The most expensive paint jobs are those that include sanding to bare metal, priming, painting, wet-sanding - lots and lots of labor and cost. The quickie paint jobs involve simply sanding the existing paint and spraying a fresh coat over it. For a bit more money, one or more clear coats are added. ALWAYS clear coat new paint - it protects against oxidation and resulting dulling effect.

Old 02-01-2007, 09:39 PM
HCF Member