Inside and Out Talk about your interior and exterior mods here.

DIY removing hvac assembly 96-98 civic

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2007, 10:16 PM
Default DIY removing hvac assembly 96-98 civic

Okay first this is a crappy DIY, I'm not good at guides. Second I've got 22pics so to keep things simple I'm gonna just post the link to my photobook page that's got all the pics, they're numbered so just go from 1 to 22 - CLICK ME.
And thirdly my car when I got it was missing alot of screws here and there so if I missed a few screws please understand that I didn't have them to stubble on....

First start by locating the hvac tempature control wire as see in pic One by looking under the panels from the passenger side.
As showin in pic, slide the cable out of the cable holder and slide it down of the metal post as seen in pic. Two.
Next you will need to open the glove box and expose the two screws shown in pic Three.
Then goto the driver side and remove the screw in the lower panel by the center console shown in pic Four.
Once the screw is removed pull the panel down and out as shown in pic Five.
Again like on the passenger side you then remove the two screws as shown in pic Six.
Once those screws are removed you than have to remove the two screws holding the lower center panel in as shown in pic Seven.
After the two screws are removed you then have to pull the panel down and out (it's a bit tricky but will come loose) as shown in pic Eight.
Now on my car I'm not sure if the cig/accessory plug is the same but on mine you disconnect the plug as shown in Nine (you're might varry but it should unclip).
Then you have to look up into the opening and look for two screws to remove as pointed towards in pic Ten, also there might be a scew further in going thru the white plastic of the hvac assembly, if you have the screw you'll need to remove it.