Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Some help with car audio for a Civic newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2010, 11:01 AM
Default Some help with car audio for a Civic newbie?

Hey there. I just bought my first car last week, a sexy 2003 Civic EX sedan.

Anywho, I need some help with car audio, since I'm a complete newbie.

I have a FM adapter for my iPod, but don't really like the sound quality, so I want to get a car stereo with an auxiliary input in the front.
I was thinking about getting something like THIS.

If I get that, or something similar, would my car's sound quality suffer? Or would that Kenwood (or similarly priced stereo) have the same sound quality as a stock 2003 Honda Civic stereo? Is there a chance the sound quality would even improve?

Also, I was thinking about improving sound quality overall, mainly improved bass (but not too much, since I listen to rock). A subwoofer is out of the question due to my car's size, and I really don't want to install mid speakers in the doors. Would installing a small 2-channel amplifier in the trunk help in any way? If I get a better stereo with increased bass control (past +6), would that work? Is there any other sort of subwoofer-like alternative?

Thanks a bunch, and sorry for all the questions.
Cheers!

Old 02-16-2010, 11:46 AM
HCF Member

The main problem you're having is that you're using an FM transmitter. Those don't put out any kind of good quality audio. Installing that deck into your car with the aux jack is going to help a lot.

I'd recommend putting in some better aftermarket speakers and call it good. I believe your car has 6.5" in the front and 6x9s in the rear.

Edit: The stock paper cone speakers suck out loud.

Old 02-16-2010, 01:46 PM