Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

fitting in new 6.5" door speakers

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2005, 09:01 PM
Default fitting in new 6.5" door speakers

Hey guys!

I am a newbie and dun really know **** bout car audio soo i need some advice. Currently, i own a 1998 EK civic hatch. the car was bought completely stock and came with a crappy tape player. My plan is to upgrade my sound system within the next 2 months.

Currently, I have got a pair of Alpine type-S 6x9's (SPS690A) which i was given for my 18th which i have not installed yet. My plan is to install them with the rest of the system later, because a friend told me that they could blow up because the ohm's or sumthing (i cant remember) were different... is there any risk of installing them now b4 i get my cd/mp3 head unit?

i want to keep my sound system relatively simple, so i only plan to run the speakers off the head deck power. I am tossing between 2 headdeck options atm. Alpine or Pioneer? i know that alpine is superior, but is it worth the extra money, considering i will not be running amps or anything? Will there be a noticable difference in sound quality between alpine and pioneer head decks?

AND... finally.... i plan to buy some 6.5" splits for the doors. I was told by a friend who has the same car, that the mounting depth of the car is really shallow. It is only 2.125". Will i be able to easily fit in alpine type-S 6.5" splits. I am also considering putting in pioneers instead because they have 'shallow' basket speakers which should fit. Which option is best? has anyone installed alpines in there front doors?

thanx dudes... appriciate ur help!

Old 03-10-2005, 09:41 PM
Default RE: fitting in new 6.5" door speakers