Audio/Visual & Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Advice on amp/sub

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 03:14 AM
HCF Member
Default Advice on amp/sub

Okay I just got a brand new alpine deck CDA-9856 and was looking for a good amp/sub to go with it. I am new to car audio but my uncle says he can help me build a box for the sub. And after I get amp and sub I want to add component speakers.
So any suggestions for good subs and amp?

Old 01-07-2007, 12:00 PM
HCF Member
Default RE: Advice on amp/sub

www.crutchfield.com

i recommend the 12 inch infinity 1250 reference subs, or the 10's, with a profile 1200 amp......how much u got to spend???

Old 01-07-2007, 01:47 PM
HCF Member

It really is all based on what you want to spend, and how much sound output you really want. If you have a civic for example, you can easily get 1 12" sub to sound almost as good as 2 10's, but if you have a larger car you might want to go with 2 12's instead.

Crutchfield is a great resource in learning what you need for what subs, how to wire them, etc.. Or you can go here, to read up on things.
http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com

If you ask me, of course, JL audio subs are a nice match for any audio system. Most people describe JL speakers as having "Tighter" bass, and its usualy more precise then some other subs. I have had experience with Kicker, MTX, Pioneer, and JL subs, and I rate my JL's above any of what I heard from the latter.

As for amps, I have had wonderful luck with Precision Power, Orion, and the older Rockford Fosgate amps *bat wing*. But all of these brands are a little on the pricey side.

If you want a simple system that doesn't break the bank I would suggest something like the Infinity Reference series line, or the Kicker Comps, perhaps a dual 10" set with a nicer amp to boot. Your amp will be the key for any speaker line-up. If the amp has the extra power, you won't regret it.